RSS

Chris Hedges: This Is What Resistance Looks Like – Chris Hedges’ Columns – Truthdig

06 Apr

The phrase consent of the governed has been turned into a cruel joke. There is no way to vote against the interests of Goldman Sachs. Civil disobedience is the only tool we have left.

We will not halt the laying off of teachers and other public employees, the slashing of unemployment benefits, the closing of public libraries, the reduction of student loans, the foreclosures, the gutting of public education and early childhood programs or the dismantling of basic social services such as heating assistance for the elderly until we start to carry out sustained acts of civil disobedience against the financial institutions responsible for our debacle. The banks and Wall Street, which have erected the corporate state to serve their interests at our expense, caused the financial crisis.

Read the rest here

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Chris Hedges: This Is What Resistance Looks Like – Chris Hedges’ Columns – Truthdig

  1. John Jasper

    01/09/2011 at 11:26 pm

    Andrew,

    You’ve had a lot to say here and hopefully it has helped you to get this off your chest.

    Let me start by saying that I stand behind the comments I made about you and so far, you’ve given me no reason to think that I may have misjudged you.

    Some other points are:
    1. Chris Hedges is a strong voice against tyranny and oppression. I’m truly shocked by his position on 9/11 but cannot denounce him anymore than I can Naomi Klein who for some reason, despite the catalog of government crimes that she documents, denies direct involvement by Bush and Co.

    2. Noam Chomsky has been documenting the government’s illegal actions for decades and even in his advanced years was ahead of the Libyan invasion at every step. He should be because it’s all been done before and even I could predict a lot of it just not to the same accuracy as Chomsky. I’ve not heard him specifically speak about his views on 9/11 so cannot really pass comment on them.

    3. Chosudovsky has an excellent handle on the real story wherever it’s happening and I suspect that this is partly because he has access to real reporters on the ground where the action is. I’ve never heard or read anything by him about 9/11 so will withold judgement until such a time as I do.

    4. Hufschmid I’ve never heard of before and never have I made any comment about him or his views. Any credibility that Hufschmid has is taking a hit by your association with his site.

    5. There’s plenty of free DRG material available online. I suspect that I’m missing out on some good info and analysis by not buying his books, etc. but I have to live within my means. Getting a book published costs money and book sales are the key to recouping the expense – a necessary evil. I’ve never heard DRG saying anything that didn’t make perfect sense. Perhaps this will be the first time!

    6. Scott Creighton aka willyloman has earned my respect and that of countless others by repeatedly turning out quality journalism. His ability to analyse a situation and forecast it’s likely course or outcome is second to none. Check out his record on Obama, the North Korean torpedo incident, the Thailand protests and how quickly he spotted the difference between the uprisings in Tunisia, Egypt and Bahrain versus the “uprising” in Libya. It’s all on line for you to read before shooting your mouth off about something you obviously know nothing about.

    7. I have no idea who you really are or what your purpose is. Your writings are at best an annoyance, a fly’s pointless buzzing around a room. I’ve wasted x minutes typing this reply and unless I see a change in your attitude, will not waste 1 minute more.

    Yours truly,
    John Jasper

     
  2. johndjasper

    02/09/2011 at 6:43 pm

    I did a little research of my own and found what I feel is a brilliant summarising statement:

    It is also now clear that anyone who supports Eric Hufschmid is at best a useful idiot…

    from http://erichufschmidandthejews.wordpress.com/

    With that and considering the rubbish that you continue to spew, I bid you farewell.

     

Leave a Reply

 
